BUBUR LAMBUK; A Malay Tradition

Hi hi~

I’m not really bored. I have a test tomorrow; statistic, promised myself that I’ll finish my law assignment by this week, worrying about tomorrow’s Darevolution Annual Grand Meeting (yes, bye bye to my VP position) and wondering why I am single.

Girls just wanna have some fun~ Well, I want to write, so no one can stop me ;p

Last Friday, my campus did this free Bubur Lambuk thingy. They use #weallpayunglagi as their slogan or something.

j

It was fun, lecturers from all faculties came down and help out, as well as students. Though I think that UNITAR Foundation School (UFS) students are the most chaotic one. Riots I tell you! Noisy bunch of monkeys, freed from the UNITAR zoo. But hey, we did help, a lot.

I came down to help at around 10ish, after my class with Sir Im. I forgot what class it was, but Sir Arvin being Sir Arvin, he signed me up for the program (without my permission of course). Meh, I like it anyway.

We have to make at least 2500 Bubur Lambuk and when I entered the kitchen, wow! It was as hectic as ever. Just like during the Kem Pencabahan (idk how to spell it xD) Minda lunch and breakfast preparations.

Currently, I was the only student and as the youngest person in the kitchen, I helped them fast. Tick tock tick tock, time passed. One by one, students came by to help and more UFS’s students also came. We were one of the very few people who stayed behind until the end. Heck, I’m glad that I was wearing a casual outfit. Casual Fridaaaaaaaaay~~~

Though it was a pain when my sweater got wet because I had to washed those huge appliances. I mean, I don’t mind being wet, but I was supposed to give out those Bubur Lambuk a.k.a. meeting outsiders with an I-have-been-slaved-in-the-kitchen-for-hours outfit; it’s a big NO-NO. Kalau jumpa jodoh macam mana?! Lari, sis!

Okay, back to the topic. UFS have the youngest students, the baby of the university, thus we got the furthest spot. We have to give out the Bubur Lambuk at Petronas Batu 3, Shah Alam. Again, as we were the youngest in the team, we had to transfer around 250ish Bubur Lambuk MANUALLY from the common room (lv2) to the parking lot (lvB1). While others get trollies, we had our powerful manpower and also, they have Allya The Girl with Monstrous Strength.

The trip was fine, except for the part where the van had to stop for a gas or should I say, diesel stop. Damn… The smell was bad, freaking bad! We almost died! (definitely exaggerated)

We set a small table in front of Mesra (Petronas convenience store) and distribute the Bubur Lambuk by going to vehicles around.

IMG_5663
I really like this photo, Payel looks sooo pweeetty~

Sir Arvin and Sir Ron had other ideas. They went to the exit of Petronas and gave out the Bubur Lambuk to the passerby. It looks fun, trying to kill yourself while doing good deeds, so I followed them. Later, Arif (Nonok) came as well. We suffered for a while but after gathering a number of crowds, the others followed us as well. Let’s kill ourselves together, yeah xD

By the end of the day, I was dead tired and I’m pretty sure everyone was worn out as well. Nevertheless, the smiles on those people who received the Bubur Lambuk was a great reward.

IMG_5853
UNITAR Foundation School on the loooooose~

It’s the holy month of Ramadhan, where good deeds are repaid by a lot more pahala than usual. Not to mention that cooking for those who are fasting are a noble thing to do. Gotta admit, I’m not a saint, I don’t think I have that much pahala, so it was a great opportunity for me to give happiness to people and also to help me to enter Jannah, which of course, is not easy.

That night, I was too lazy to do Tarawih, but hey, what’s the point of you doing good deeds but leaving one of the greatest gift of Ramadhan? There’s also no class on Saturday, so yeay!

(Truthfully, I complained the next morning. I slept for 16 hours straight because I got my period that night, after Tarawih. Fuh! The next morning, it felt like my body was punched here and there. The soreness, oh God. Eeeeeeeergh!)

Apapun, saya tidak menyesalinya!

Teheee~ I guess that is all for today.

Tata~

P.S. The title said a Malay tradition because I’ve realized it for sometime now, that here in Malaysia, a few days before the 1st of Syawal (Hari Raya Aidilfitri), especially the last 10 days of Ramadhan; they like to give out Bubur Lambuk. Though I’m not sure why. I mean, I don’t know why they’re giving out Bubur Lambuk and not Nasi Lemak. If we were to talk about the costing, Bubur Lambuk is quite hard to make and the ingredients are quite pricey as well. I’ll do my homework and research some more~

Leave a Reply

